Four Lakes Northeast Loblolly Capitol Magnolia Homochitto Longleaf Broadleaf

Mississippi Society of American Foresters

The Mississippi Society of American Foresters is one of 33 state and multi-state societies that make up the Society of American Foresters, an organization of professional foresters dedicated to the advancement of the science and practice of forestry. Our 600 state members constitute the largest professional forestry organization in Mississippi.

Our members work for state and federal agencies, universities and colleges, forest products companies and private consulting firms, large and small landowners, as well as environmental and political organizations. Although our professional viewpoints vary, we share a common goal - the wise use of the Mississippi's forest resources.

Looking for a Chapter

The Mississippi Society of American Foresters consists of eight local chapters and two student chapters. The role of these chapters is to promote forestry locally by providing forestry expertise and undertaking projects that enhance the knowledge of sound forestry practices. Each chapter meets several times throughout the year for food, fellowship, and forestry programs.

Continuing Education Opportunity

Jones County Junior College is offering the 17th Annual CE's by the Sea. The event takes place July 7-July 9 and offers up to 22.5 hours of Continuing Forestry Education. Download the brochure for more information.

The Mississippi Society of American Foresters (MS SAF) supports the restoration and maintenance of longleaf pine on appropriate sites in the Gulf Coastal Plain of Mississippi.
2017 MS SAF Annual Meeting
The MS SAF annual meeting will be held in Jackson at the Mississippi Agriculture and Forestry Museum on June 22 and 23. At this time, our working theme is "The Evolving Faces of Forestry" and our intent is to discuss how MS SAF will move forward as an organization. Meeting specifics will be supplied in the near future. We hope that the dates work well with you and hope to see you in Jackson.
Congratulations to this year's award winners
Distinguished Service - Marcus Measells
Outstanding Young Forester - Tedrick Ratcliff
Student Leadership Award - Zachary Senneff
Fellow - Emily Schultz