MSU announces latest research award selections


Back to News

Posted: 3/29/2007


A senior Mississippi State aquaculture scientist is receiving the university's 2007 Ralph E. Powe Research Excellence Award.

Louis R. D'Abramo, a wildlife and fisheries professor, was honored Tuesday night during the university's annual spring research awards banquet. He was among 23 whose achievements were praised at the Hunter Henry Center program.

The Powe award annually recognizes faculty researchers making important contributions to the economic welfare or cultural growth of the university, state and nation. It is a campus memorial to the alumnus and longtime research vice president who died in 1996.

D'Abramo has received numerous tributes over his campus career, including inclusion as a W.L. Giles Distinguished Professor, the land-grant institution's highest faculty rank. He also has been named a John Grisham Master Teacher and Grisham Faculty Excellence Award selection.

Recently, the National Shellfisheries Association honored him with a meritorious service award for outstanding leadership and service. He currently serves as NSA president and previously held a similar office with the World Aquaculture Society.

Kirk Schulz, interim vice president for research and economic development, said D'Abramo represents the high caliber of faculty at MSU.

"He brings an international reputation to Mississippi State," Schulz said. "When he lectures in the classroom, he brings cutting edge research experience with him."

D'Abramo holds a 1979 doctorate in ecology and evolutionary biology from Yale University. Among others, his research areas include the development of management strategies to optimize fish production; crustacean and mollusk species for commercial aquaculture; and nutritional physiology of larval and juvenile crustaceans.

Schulz was joined by Vance Watson, vice president for agriculture, forestry and veterinary medicine, in presenting the evening's honors.

The other honorees included Faculty Research Award, Eric Dibble, associate professor, wildlife and fisheries department; Research Support Staff Award, Chuan-Yu Hsu, research associate, forestry department; and Graduate Student Award, Aaron T. Pearse of Starkville, a doctoral student in forest resources.

Deans Office